7061 East Pleasant Valley Road, Independence, Ohio 44131 • (216) 241-2630 / Fax: (216) 241-6516

News and Issues
User Info

Gabaldon elected New Mexico State Legislative Board Chairman

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, April 10 — Brother Eric A. Gabaldon was elected Chairman of the New Mexico State Legislative Board at its quadrennial meeting in Albuquerque, N.M., on November 1, 2016.

Brother Gabaldon is a Burlington Northern Santa Fe locomotive engineer who has held continuous membership in Division 400 (Albuquerque, N.M.) since March 1, 2006. He hired out in 1998 with the BNSF mechanical department before transferring to engine service. He earned promotion to locomotive engineer in 2003. Brother Gabaldon is currently in his third term as Local Chairman of Division 400 and also serves as its Legislative Representative.

Also elected at the quadrennial meeting were: 1st Vice Chairman and Secretary-Treasurer Brian A. Jenne, Division 811 (Clovis, N.M.); 2nd Vice Chairman Patrick T. Lynch, Division 446 (Belen, N.M.); 3rd Vice Chairman J.A. (Jimmy) Steiner, Division 15 (Albuquerque, N.M.); 4th Vice Chairman Gilbert E. Tafoya Jr., Division 791 (Belen, N.M.); Alternate Secretary-Treasurer Eddie M. Padilla, Division 400 (Albuquerque, N.M.); and Chaplain Blake K. Switzer, Division 811 (Clovis, N.M.). Elected to serve on the Audit Committee were: Pat Lynch, Division 446; Jimmy Steiner, Division 15; and Gilbert Tafoya, Division 791.

Representing the BLET National Division at the meeting were: Dennis R. Pierce, National President; E. Lee Pruitt, First Vice President; and John P. Tolman, Vice President and National Legislative Representative.

“Congratulations to Brother Gabaldon and all officers of the New Mexico State Legislative Board,” President Pierce said. “ I thank them for their dedication to our Brotherhood. I also wish to recognize outgoing Chairman Pat Lynch for his many years of service to the Brotherhood.”

Brother Lynch played a key role in reestablishing the New Mexico State Legislative Board in 2012, and served as its Chairman from 2012-2016.

Additional Brotherhood guests included: David K. Brown, Minnesota State Legislative Board Chairman; G.N. (Nick) Johnson, Arizona State Legislative Board Chairman; Chris S. Lewis, Local Chairman of Division 811 (Clovis, N.M.); Manny Perez III, Local Chairman of Division 647 (Phoenix, Ariz.). Other guests included U.S. Representative Ben Ray Lujan, who represents New Mexico’s 3rd District; and Chris Martinez of the Federal Railroad Administration.

The New Mexico State Legislative Board represents approximately 550 active and retired members in five BLET Divisions.

Monday, April 10, 2017

Like us on Facebook at

Sign up for BLET News Flash Alerts

© 1997-2017 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen


Decertification Helpline
(216) 694-0240

National Negotiations

Sign up for BLET
News Flash Alerts


Not guilty on all counts: Jury acquits three men accused in Lac-Megantic disaster
Lac-Megantic verdict a tremendous relief for accused and all workers
Teamsters Canada statement on Lac-Megantic verdict
‘It broke their lives:’ Lac-Megantic residents support acquittals of MMA rail workers
Former MMA chairman Ed Burkhardt says ‘jury made the right decision’
RRB offices remain open during government shutdown
Foote says he sees support at CSX despite job cuts
Why Hunter Harrison’s railroad revolution will continue even though he’s gone
Amtrak’s Cascade rail ridership drops after DuPont derailment
Florida Congressman wants Brightline rail line shut down for safety review
Hartford rail line set to open in May, but fiscal troubles loom
Railroad Retirement and Unemployment Insurance Taxes in 2018
Get the latest labor news from the Teamsters

More Headlines