7061 East Pleasant Valley Road, Independence, Ohio 44131 • (216) 241-2630 / Fax: (216) 241-6516

News and Issues
User Info

BLET members attend KC-area Town Hall meeting

Friday, April 21, 2017

Representatives from three-dozen BLET Divisions attended a Town Hall meeting in Riverside, Missouri, on March 29. BLET National President Dennis R. Pierce served as the featured speaker, along with BNSF (former ATSF) General Chairman J. Alan Holdcraft.

Registration continues for BLET’s San Antonio regional meeting

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Registration continues for the BLET regional meeting at the Hyatt Regency San Antonio Riverwalk, June 5-9, 2017. The meeting will be filled with educational opportunities and will provide chances to hear reports for the Brotherhood’s top National Division officers. Hotel reservations must be made by April 28, 2017.

Rail hazmat training for Arizona, New Mexico workers

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

The Rail Workers Hazardous Materials Training Program is hosting a training session from May 1-5, 2017. Attendance is only open to railroad employees in Arizona, Western New Mexico, and the Navajo Nation. Training will be located at the BNSF Depot, 1417 West Second St., Winslow, AZ, 86047.

Gabaldon elected New Mexico State Legislative Board Chairman

Monday, April 10, 2017

Brother Eric A. Gabaldon was elected Chairman of the New Mexico State Legislative Board at its quadrennial meeting in Albuquerque, N.M., on November 1, 2016.

Keeping unions strong in the rail industry

Friday, April 07, 2017

By Dennis R. Pierce, BLET National President Everything we have today — from legal protections, to the level of wages, benefits and working conditions we enjoy today — came from the battles waged by those who founded our unions and those who followed them. These victories were not simply conceded by the railroads or the government … they were wrested from the hands of the wealthy and powerful by means of a genuine movement and a broad solidarity on the part of our predecessors.

Action Alert: Amtrak must be fully funded

Friday, March 24, 2017

We also urge President Trump and members of Congress to allocate enough money for improvement of rapid, frequent and dependable service and continued growth of passenger rail throughout the United States of America.

Tell Congress: Don’t Tax Our Benefits!

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

The new health care bill is expected to come to a vote on the House Floor on Thursday, March 23. The Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen, in conjunction with the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, is asking all members to distribute the following flier to let Congress know that the so-called “Cadillac tax” is unfair and unacceptable.

The Benefits of Belonging

Thursday, March 16, 2017

By Dennis R. Pierce, BLET National President On May 8, 2017, we will mark our great Brotherhood’s 154th anniversary. Many things have changed since that time, but one of our primary responsibilities remains the same as it was when our Union was founded on May 8, 1863 — to protect and defend the jobs of our members.

More News

© 1997-2017 Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen


Decertification Helpline
(216) 694-0240

National Negotiations

Sign up for BLET
News Flash Alerts


AAR: Rail traffic up 3.9 percent over 2016 for week ending April 15
KCS reports 1Q 2017 income; Sets record for 1Q revenues, carloads, operating income, operating ratio, earnings per share
Report: Pipeline shortage could boost crude by rail activity
CP CEO vows to smooth ‘ruffled feathers’ with new labor contracts
Amtrak CEO says New York City-area railroad troubles will get worse
CSX predicts 25 percent profit jump as restructuring begins
California sells high-speed rail bonds despite lawsuit
Senators, Reps urge MBTA: Negotiate with your workers instead of privatizing
Can Amtrak bar NJ Transit from Northeast Corridor if state withholds rent?
Gov. Christie: ‘I have not heard much about overcrowded trains’
In the breach with Amtrak’s new CEO
After stampede at Penn Station, Amtrak police point to security flaws
KCS CEO: A lot at stake if there’s a ‘bad outcome’ on NAFTA
KCS de Mexico files response to report on competition in Mexican freight rail system
Amtrak’s CIO is on a technology fast track
RRB: Medicare for railroad families
Get the latest labor news from the Teamsters

More Headlines